Howell County Commission

The County Commission, in accordance with the State of Missouri’s Constitution, consists of three elected officials who manage the county’s business as prescribed by law and keep an accurate record of its proceedings.

Responsibilities of the Commission include, but are not limited to:

  • Managing County owned property – including the courthouse
  • Overseeing the maintenance of the County’s roads and bridges
  • Preparation of the Annual Budget
  • Expenditure Approval
  • Appointment of board members
  • Applies for and approves State and Federal grants for Howell County
  • Maintaining an active role in many State and Federal programs and committees

The Commissioners meet in regular sessions on Mondays and Thursdays, from 10:00 am to 3:30 pm. (Open during the lunch hour)

Phone: (417) 256-3872
Fax:      (417) 256-2512

Address: 35 Court Square Room 302
West Plains, MO 65775


Presiding Commissioner ~ Ralph Riggs
Northern Commissioner ~ Calvin Wood
Southern Commissioner ~ Billy Sexton
Clerk ~ Kelly Waggoner